White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanic Americans – California Tour, Aug. 16-23, 2009

Listed below are the details for the White House Initiative’s California Community Conversations Tour. Although some RSVP and room numbers are missing, contact information for each venue has been provided. Please contact the venue of your choice to RSVP.

We hope to see you at one of the events next week!

Sincerely,

Glorimar Maldonado Nosal
Marketing-Communications Manager
White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanic Americans U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Ave. S.W., Room 5E335
Washington, DC 20202
Tel: 202-401-0078
Fax: 202-401-8377
E-mail: Glorimar.Nosal@ed.gov

White House Initiative “Community Conversations”
California Tour
Aug. 16-23, 2009

Aug. 16 – San Diego Mesa College

Session times: 10 a.m., 1 p.m.
RSVP: Aug. 11 to Beth Cain

San Diego Mesa College Cafeteria
7250 Mesa College Drive, San Diego, CA

Dr. Barbara Kavalier
W: 619-388-2881
bkavalie@sdccd.edu

Sara Beth Cain
W:619-388-2721
scain@sdccd.edu

John Nunes – Public Relations
W: 619-388-6557
jnunes@sdccd.edu

Aug. 17 – Santa Ana College

Session times: 9:30 a.m., 12:45 p.m.
RSVP: Online only:
http://www.sac.edu/activities/public_affairs/whitehouseinitiative.htm
Santa Ana College – Johnson Center
1530 W. 17th St., Santa Ana, CA

Laurie Weidner
W: 714-480-7509
weidner_laurie@rsccd.edu

Aug. 18 – Los Angeles (a.m.): Edward R. Roybal Learning Center
Session times: 9 a.m., 10:45 a.m.
RSVP: Aug 14 to Susana Coracero

Los Angeles Unified School District – Edward R. Roybal Learning Center 1200 W. Colton St., Los Angeles, CA

Luis Sanchez
l.sanchez@lausd.net

Monica Garcia
W: 213-241-6180
Monica.garcia@lausd.net

Susana Coracero
W: 213-241-5691
Susana.coracero@lausd.net

Aug. 18 – L.A. (p.m.): California State University Dominguez Hills
Session Times: 1:30 p.m., 3:15 p.m.
RSVP: Aug. 14 to David Gamboa

California State University Dominguez Hills – Loker Student Union, Ballroom C 1000 E. Victoria Street, Carson, CA

David Gamboa
W: 310-243-3819
dgamboa@csudh.edu

Cheri Mason
W: 310-243-3301
cmason@csudh.edu

Aug. 19 – L.A. (a.m.): Rio Hondo College

Session times: 9 a.m., 10:45 a.m.
RSVP: TBD

Rio Hondo College – [Location TBD]
3600 Workman Mill Rd., Whittier, CA

Ted Martinez, Jr.
T: 562-908-3403
tedmartinez@riohondo.edu

Aug. 19 – L.A. (p.m.): California State University Northridge
Session times: 1:30 p.m., 3:15 p.m.
RSVP: Aug. 18 to Susan Widelitz

California State University Northridge – Orange Grove Bistro at the University Club 18111 Nordhoff St., Northridge, CA

Randy Reynaldo
W: 818-677-2128
Randy.reynaldo@csun.edu

Brittny McCarthy
818-677-2124
brittny.mccarthy@csun.edu

Susan Widelitz
W: 818-677-2123
Susan.widelitz@csun.edu

Aug. 20 – L.A. (a.m.): Long Beach City College

Session times: 9 a.m., 10:45 a.m.
RSVP: Mark Taylor

Long Beach City College – Building O South, Large Meeting Room 4900 E. Conant St., Long Beach, CA

M’Shelle Reece
W: 562-938-4122
mreece@lbcc.edu

Mark W. Taylor
W: 562-938-4206
mtaylor@lbcc.edu

Aug. 21 – Fresno (a.m.): U.C. Center Fresno

Session times: 9 a.m., 10:45 a.m.
RSVP: TBD

U.C. Center Fresno – Inyo/Kern Room
550 E. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA

Cheri Cruz
559-292-1576
ccruz@csufresno.edu

Brandy Nikaido
W: 559-241-7512
bnikaido@ucmerced.edu

Aug. 21 – Merced College (p.m.)

Session times: 1:30 p.m., 3:15 p.m.
RSVP: Aug 19 to Stacy Kellner

Merced College – Merced College Downtown Business Resource Center 630 W. 19th St., Merced CA

Benjamin Duran
Duran@mccd.edu

Stacy Kellner
W: 209-384-6100
Stacy.kellner@mccd.edu

Anne Newins
W: 209-384-6185
Newins.a@mccd.edu

Aug. 22 –Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel (a.m.)

Session times: 8:30 a.m.
RSVP: Online only:
http://www.clsba.com/

Sacramento Grand Sheraton Hotel – Grand Nave Ballroom
1230 J St., Sacramento, CA

Juan C. Yñiguez
W: 916-207-9512
jyniguez@surewest.net

Aug. 22 – Sacramento City College (p.m.)

Session times: 2 p.m.
RSVP: Aug. 20 to Flavia Lara

Sacramento City College – Student Center, West Hall
3835 Freeport Blvd., Sacramento, CA

Bill Karns
W: 916-565-3031
karnsw@losrios.edu

Greg Hayman
W: 916-216-2304
haymang@scc.losrios.edu

Flavia Lara
W: 916-558-2441
laraf@scc.losrios@edu

Amanda Hamilton
W: 916-558-2442
HamiltA@scc.losrios.edu

Aug. 23 – Mission College (p.m.)

Session times: 1 p.m.
RSVP: Aug. 20 to TBD

Mission College – Hospitality Management (Facility)
3000 Mission College Blvd., Santa Clara, CA

Linda Angelotti
W: 408-855-5123
Linda_angelotti@wvm.edu

Worku Negash
W: 408-855-5232
worku_negash@wvm.edu

Kena Rogers
W: 408-855-5233
kena_rogers@wvm.edu

-Emanuel Pleitez

Advertisements

One Response

  1. Sounds like possible interest from folks at Cafe Media on tracking this initiative…next steps?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: