Field notes from Rebecca

(Note: Emanuel’s wife, Rebecca, will post content periodically on this blog)

Yesterday was my first day out in the field, walking the streets of El Sereno and happily campaigning for my husband, Emanuel Pleitez, who is running for Mayor of Los Angeles.  We’re putting everything on the line and giving it all we’ve got.

It was a special day. I had profound conversations with people from this community—I remember specific conversations with voters, who trust, that when elected, my husband will do everything in his hands to get this great city back on its feet. 

The conversations I had were heartfelt.  I was especially touched by a conversation with an older lady because it made me think about my own family and friends.  She mentioned that at one point or another, we all feel overwhelmed with life’s problems.  We make an effort to solve our own problems or talk to our friends or neighbors about it.  And I felt honored to be a friend and lend an ear to the voters in El Sereno.  Talking openly with people about their struggles made understanding their concerns are very real—people struggle every day and they want their voices to be heard.  We, as a community, need to lead by example and push for an honest political discourse.  

Voters were happiest when they had an opportunity to share their concerns.  They share many things in common with my husband. Emanuel understands firsthand what it’s like to worry about making next month’s rent or paying next month’s bill, and he understands what it’s like to struggle in communities that seem to be forgotten.    

And voters in El Sereno echo concerns I’ve heard elsewhere in the City. I’m reminded of an older Latina female who told me that she is scared of the cops. Still, she believes that her community needs more police on patrol to prevent vandalism and crime because it is best prevented through increased security.  I’m also reminded of the older Latino gentlemen, who said that he is concerned about the elementary school students in his neighborhood who walk to school every day. A marked crosswalk could guide children along the school walking route and prevent accidents. These concerns are shared by many throughout the City, and Emanuel wants to not only listen but do something about them.

As we walk through LA’s neighborhoods, I’m looking forward to talking to voters, hearing their concerns, and working together to make their communities and Los Angeles a safer and better place to live and work. 

Leave a Reply

